David Smith, Jr.
NCRA Public Relations
(405) 740-4769

Tyler Davis Storms Through Field for NCRA Modified Victory at 81 Speedway!
Park City, Kansas – July 14, 2018 - In a wild, caution-plagued feature, former series champion Tyler Davis worked through the field, and survived to claim the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified feature Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City.

Kendall Kemp and Corey Lagroon started on the front row and paced the twenty-seven-car field for the twenty-five-lap feature with Lagroon taking the lead as the green flag fell. Dan Powers, Jason McGehee, Ross Shipman and John Allen were the top five after the first lap with Lagroon opening-up a ten-car-length lead.

The first caution of the night fell on lap two when Tad Davis and Tanner Mullens got together entering turn four, sending both drivers to the back on the restart. On the restart, Powers got passed Kemp for the runner-up position while Lagroon had slowly stretched his lead to a half-stretch by lap six.

Caution fell again on lap seven when Scott Green came to a stop at the top of turns three and four. By this time, the left front wheel on Powers #4 modified, which had broke a couple laps earlier, proved tricky on the attempted restart before the caution fell again when McGehee came to a stop on the back-stretch with a broke left front.

Once again, the attempted restart went awry as Powers finally came to a stop at the top of turn four with the broke left front, causing the first DNF of the season for the three-time and defending tour champion.

When race action finally resumed it was Lagroon still you leader with Kemp back in the runner-up position. Current series points leader Cody Schniepp had worked his way up through the field from his thirteenth starting position to third while Brandon Massey and Colton Eck were top five. Lagroon had opened a half-stretch lead over Kemp once again before the caution fell at the races mid-way point when Josh Lanterman came to a stop in turn four with a flat right rear.

Lagroon again pulled away from the rest of the field while behind him, nineteenth-starting Tyler Davis was making his way up through the field and by lap fifteen had made it up to the third position.

The final caution came on lap eighteen with Davis glued to the leader’s rear bumper. Lagroon looked to have things under control until he entered turn three with just six laps to go and exited to the back pits, relinquishing his lead to
Tyler Davis. Mullens, who had worked back through the field after restarting at the back due to his lap two caution, was now in the runner-up position but had nothing for Davis as he cruised to his second feature victory of the season and moved him to within 140 points of the lead in the standings.

Mullens came home with a strong second while Kemp settled for third. Eleventh-starting Joe Cleveland finished fourth while former tour champion John Allen, making his first-series start of 2018, rounded out the top five.    

The four, eight lap heat races for the thirty-car field were won by McGehee, Shipman, Allen and Lagroon while Cleveland led wire-to-wire the twelve-lap “B” feature.

Next up for the NCRA modified division will be the “Mid-Summer Classic” as the 62nd annual O’Reilly Auto Parts Hutchinson Grand Nationals presented by Allen Samuels Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge and Ram takes place once again atop the famed Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson on Friday and Saturday night, August 3-4. Saturday night’s big championship feature finale will pay $2000 to win.

NCRA Modifieds

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas

July 14, 2018

30 Cars

1st Heat (8Laps): 1) 5*-Jason McGehee, [1]; 2) 2K-Kendall Kemp, [8]; 3) 2-Joe Cleveland, [4]; 4) 21C-Cody Schniepp, [6]; 5) 16-Shawn Govern, [2]; 6) 32-Bob Bills, [5]; 7) 19-Travis Govern, [7]; 8) 69-Cecil Dymond, [3]

2nd Heat (8 Laps): 1) 91-Ross Shipman, [1]; 2) 4-Dan Powers, [4]; 3) 93-Brandon Massey, [5]; 4) 21B-Bryce Schniepp, [6]; 5) 3J-Jake Nightingale, [2]; 6) 99T-T.J. Tolan, [8]; 7) 11B-Bill Siemers, [3]; 8) 9D-Dean Brungardt, [7]

3rd Heat (8 Laps): 1) 98-John Allen, [1]; 2) 75-Tad Davis, [2]; 3) 02-Tanner Mullens, [4]; 4) 4A-Josh Lanterman, [6]; 5) MC2-Clint McFadden, [3]; 6) 65-Tyler Davis, [5]; 7) A2-Randy Wilson, [7]

4th Heat (8 Laps): 1) 24-Corey Lagroon, [2]; 2) 2G-Brandon Givens, [1]; 3) 747-Colton Eck, [5]; 4) 86-Brian Franz, [4]; 5) 25-Scott Green, [7]; 6) K9Kyler Kemp, [3]; 7) 11-Erick Chesterman, [6]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1) 2-Joe Cleveland, [1]; 2) 21C-Cody Schniepp, [3]; 3) 02-Tanner Mullens, [2]; 4) 21B-Bryce Schniepp, [4]; 5) 4A-Josh Lanterman, [5]; 6) 86-Brian Franz, [7]; 7) 25-Scott Green, [6]; 8) 16-Shawn Govern, [10]; 9) 65-Tyler Davis, [13]; 10) 99T-T.J. Tolan, [8]; 11) 32-Bob Bills, [12]; 12) MC2-Clint McFadden, [9]; 13) 3J-Jake Nightingale, [11]; 14) 11-Erick Chesterman, [17]; 15) A2-Randy Wilson, [16]; 16) 11B-Bill Siemers, [18]; 17) 19-Travis Govern, [15]; 18) K9-Kyler Kemp, [14]; (DNS) 9D-Dean Brungardt, ; (DNS) 69-Cecil Dymond,

A Feature (25 Laps): 1) 65-Tyler Davis, [19]; 2) 02-Tanner Mullens, [13]; 3) 2K-Kendall Kemp, [1]; 4) 2-Joe Cleveland, [11]; 5) 98-John Allen, [6]; 6) 21c-Cody Schniepp, [12]; 7) 25-Scott Green, [17]; 8) 747-Colton Eck, [8]; 9) 91-Ross Shipman, [5]; 10) MC2-Clint McFadden, [22]; 11) 4A-Josh Lanterman, [15]; 12) 99T-T.J. Tolan, [20]; 13) 93-Brandon Massey, [7]; 14) 3J-Jake Nightingale, [23]; 15) 11B-Bill Siemers, [26]; 16) 2G-Brandon Givens, [10]; 17) 11-Erick Chesterman, [24]; 18) 24-Corey Lagroon, [2]; 19) 21B-Bryce Schniepp, [14]; 20) 86-Brian Franz, [16]; 21) A2-Randy Wilson, [25]; 22) 16-Shawn Govern, [18]; 23) 75-Tad Davis, [9]; 24) 32-Bob Bills, [21]; 25) 4Dan Powers, [3]; 26) 5*-Jason McGehee, [4]; 27) 19-Travis Govern, [27]

Lap leaders: Lagroon 1-18; Tyler Davis 19-25