David Smith, Jr.
NCRA Public Relations
(405) 740-4769

Mullens Claims Record-Breaking Sixth NCRA Modified Victory of Season!

Park City, Kansas – September 1, 2018 - Current series points leader Tanner Mullens of Wichita, Kansas took the lead early and never looked back to claim the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified event on Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City to round out the two-race, Labor Day weekend of racing.

Scott Green and Tyler Davis started on the front row for the twenty-five-lap feature with Green taking the early lead as the green flag fell. Third-starting Mullens settled into the runner-up position while Davis, Kirby Robe and Brandon Massey were the top five after the first lap was complete.

Green would lead the first two laps before Mullens got a run around the top of turn two and drove around Green to take the lead down the backstretch. By lap five Mullens had opened up a half-stretch lead over Green before Davis got a strong run on lap seven and got passed Green to take over second.

Mullens continued his full-stretch lead before the first of two caution flags fell when Clint McFadden and Josh Everhart made contact in turn two.

On the restart, Mullens hit to the cushion at the top of turns one and two and utilized the bottom of turns three and four to continue his torrid pace out front.

Behind him, thirteenth-starting Cody Schniepp made his way into the third position at the races midway point, delegating Green to fourth before passing Davis for the runner-up position two laps later.

Lap seventeen saw three-time and defending tour champion Dan Powers worked his way up into fourth from his seventeenth-starting position.

While Mullens was running comfortable up front, the battle for the runner-up position continued between Schniepp and Davis with Schniepp running down low and Davis utilizing the top.

Mullens full-stretch lead evaporated with four laps to go as Bob Bills spun at the bottom of turn four to bring out the night’s final caution flag.

On the restart, there was no catching Mullens as he would go on to claim the ten car lengths victory and his sixth of the season, passing Brian Franz for the most series modified feature wins in one season.

Coming off his first-career series victory the night before at Salina Speedway, Schniepp came home second while Davis finished third. Powers would settle for fourth while Massey rounded out the top five and his second-consecutive top five finish.

The four, eight lap heat races for the twenty-eight-car field were won by Jason McGehee, Massey, Green and Davis while Ryan McAninch claimed the ten lap, “B” feature.

Next event for the NCRA modified division will take place on Saturday night, September 15, back at 81 Speedway.

NCRA Modifieds

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas

September 1, 2018

28 Cars

1st Heat (8 Laps): 1) Jason McGehee, 2) Tanner Mullens, 3) Ryan McAninch, 4) Corey Lagroon, 5) Treyton Gann, 6) Clint McFadden, 7) Jake Nightingale

2nd Heat (8 Laps): 1) Brandon Massey, 2) Kirby Robe, 3) Josh Lanterman, 4) Marlin Farr, 5) Cody Schniepp, 6) Marc Hurd, 7) Nic Baalman

3rd Heat (8 Laps): 1) Scott Green, 2) Dan Powers, 3) Bryce Schniepp, 4) Edward Leecey, 5) Josh Everhart, 6) Cecil Dymond, 7) Brock Lane

4th Heat (8 Laps): 1) Tyler Davis, 2) Brian Franz, 3) Joe Cleveland, 4) Bob Bills, 5) Ross Shipman, 6) T.J. Tolan, 7) Randy Wilson

B Feature (10 Laps): 1) Ryan McAninch, 2) Bryce Schniepp, 3) Josh Everhart, 4) Bryce Schniepp, 5) Josh Lanterman, 6) Marc Hurd, 7) Bob Bills, 8) Edward Leecey, 9) Clint McFadden, 10) Jake Nightingale, 11) Cecil Dymond, 12) T.J. Tolan, 13) Ross Shipman, 14) Nic Baalman, 15) Marlin Farr, 16) Treyton Gann, 17) Brock Lane, 18) Randy Wilson

A Feature (25 Laps): 1) Tanner Mullens, 2) Cody Schniepp, 3) Tyler Davis, 4) Dan Powers, 5) Brandon Massey, 6) Joe Cleveland, 7) Jason McGehee, 8) Scott Green, 9) Brian Franz, 10) Josh Lanterman, 11) Kirby Robe, 12) Clint McFadden, 13) Corey Lagroon, 14) Josh Everhart, 15) Bob Bills, 16) Ryan McAninch, 17) Jake Nightingale, 18) Bryce Schniepp, 19) Edward Leecey, 20) Marc Hurd