“The G.O.A.T.” Ricky Carmichael Set to Make Broadcast Debut with Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship at Thunder Valley

Season Premiere on NBC to Showcase Opening 450 Class Moto, Followed by Live Coverage of Remaining Motos on MAVTV, MAVTV.com, and MAVTVPlus.com

 

     
 
LAKEWOOD, Colo. (June 10, 2022) – The 50th Anniversary of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, will leave the “Golden State” for the first time in 2022 and travel to the mile-high altitude of the Rocky Mountains for the third round of the season from Colorado. At an elevation of more than 6,100 feet, Lakewood’s scenic Thunder Valley Motocross Park boasts the highest elevation of any professional motocross track in the world and presents one of the most unique challenges in American motocross. As a result, the Toyota Thunder Valley National is poised for a thrilling afternoon of competition that will officially kick off with the season premiere on NBC Television Network and a showcase of the opening 450 Class moto, followed by live coverage of the remaining races in both the 450 Class and 250 Class on MAVTV Motorsports Network, with free online streaming on MAVTV.com and MAVTVPlus.com.
 
Joining host and lead commentator Jason Weigandt in the broadcast booth as All-Star Analyst will be the most decorated athlete in the history of the sport, “The G.O.A.T.” himself, Ricky Carmichael. This will signify Carmichael’s debut as a commentator for the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, but his voice is one of the most familiar in the sport thanks to his analyst role on NBC for Monster Energy Supercross. On the track, the Florida native was the standard bearer for success and amassed the single-most-successful career in the Pro Motocross Championship’s 50-year history. His record 10 total championships, all won consecutively between 1997 and 2006, is complemented by a historic 102 career wins, both of which are marks poised to stand the test of time. During his decade-long career, Carmichael won championships for three different manufacturers - Kawasaki, Honda, and Suzuki - and became the first rider to ever complete a perfect season, winning all 24 motos that comprised the 12-round championship. He accomplished this feat twice, in 2002 and 2004 riding for Honda. Carmichael retired from competition on his terms, with a farewell tour in 2007 that saw him compete in six Nationals, winning each one to surpass the 100-win milestone and become the only rider in history to eclipse that mark.
"The GOAT" Ricky Carmichael, a 10-time Pro Motocross Champion, will serve as
All-Star Analyst for the Thunder Valley National.
Photo: Racer X Illustrated
Domestic coverage of the Toyota Thunder Valley National in the United States will kick off at 1 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET with an exclusive live major network showcase of the first 450 Class moto on NBC and exclusive streaming on Peacock. From there, MAVTV Motorsports Network will provide live coverage of the deciding 450 Class moto and both motos of the 250 Class, starting at 2 p.m. PT / 5 p.m. ET, while live streaming coverage of the remaining motos can be seen for free on MAVTV.com and MAVTVPlus.com. Additionally, MAVTV.com and MAVTVPlus.com will provide encore coverage of the first 450 Class moto at 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET. Coverage of qualifying will be streamed live on MAVTV.com, MAVTVPlus.com, and the @AmericanMotocross YouTube channel, beginning at 9 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. ET.

DOMESTIC U.S. BROADCASTS

Domestic television coverage in the United States from Thunder Valley will feature a live broadcast of the first 450 Class moto on NBC Television Network, followed by live coverage of the remaining motos of the 450 Class and 250 Class on MAVTV Motorsports Network.
 
Saturday, June 11
450 Moto 1 | 1 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET | NBC Television Network | LIVE
250 Moto 1 | 2 p.m. PT / 5 p.m. ET | MAVTV Motorsports Network | LIVE
450 Moto 2 | 3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET | MAVTV Motorsports Network | LIVE
250 Moto 2 | 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET | MAVTV Motorsports Network | LIVE

Use the MAVTV channel finder to see if the network is available in your area. MAVTV Motorsports Network is available from most cable and satellite television providers, including DIRECTV, Fios by Verizon, Optimum, and Spectrum, and is also available from streaming services like Fubo TV, Hulu + Live TV, and YouTube TV.

STREAMING COVERAGE (DOMESTIC & INTERNATIONAL)

In addition to network coverage, fans in the U.S. and in countries all over the world can stream all the action from Thunder Valley online through their smart TV, streaming device, or mobile device using Peacock for the first 450 Class moto and logging on to MAVTV.com or MAVTVPlus.com for the remaining motos, including an encore of the first 450 Class moto. Qualifying coverage can also be seen on @AmericanMotocross YouTube.

Saturday, June 11
Qualifying | 9 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET / 17:00 GMT | MAVTV.com, MAVTVPlus.com | LIVE
450 Moto 1 | 1 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET / 20:00 GMT | Peacock | LIVE
250 Moto 1 | 2 p.m. PT / 5 p.m. ET / 21:00 GMT | MAVTV.com & MAVTVPlus.com | LIVE
450 Moto 2 | 3 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. ET / 22:00 GMT | MAVTV.com & MAVTVPlus.com | LIVE
250 Moto 2 | 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET / 23:00 GMT | MAVTV.com & MAVTVPlus.com | LIVE
450 Moto 1 | 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET / 0:00 GMT | MAVTV.com & MAVTVPlus.com | Encore

 
For information about the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, please visit ProMotocross.com and be sure to follow all of the Pro Motocross social media channels for exclusive content and additional information on the latest news:
Now available for download for both Apple and Android devices is the official Pro Motocross App. Fans of American motocross can have access to the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series right at their fingertips on their mobile devices. Developed by AMA Pro Racing, the Pro Motocross App provides users with the most important information surrounding the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, from series news to schedule and ticket information, as well as broadcast schedule details and live timing & scoring. Download it now via the App Store or Google Play.
 
Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship
The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world's fastest outdoor motocross racers, competing aboard homologated bikes from one of seven competing manufacturers on a collection of the roughest, toughest tracks on the planet. Racing takes place each Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc machines, and one for 450cc machines. MX Sports Pro Racing, the industry leader in off-road powersports event production, manages the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. The title sponsor is Lucas Oil, a leading producer of premium oils, greases, and problem-solving additives, all made in America. Broadcast coverage will be showcased live all season long on MAVTV Motorsports Network, with three rounds broadcast live on NBC Network.

More information can be found at
www.ProMotocross.com.
Lucas Oil Products, Inc.
Lucas Oil Products was founded by Forrest and Charlotte Lucas with the simple philosophy of producing only the best line of lubricants and additives available anywhere. Since its inception, Lucas has steadfastly adhered to this corporate objective. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas has established itself as the top selling additive line in the United States. Additionally, Lucas Oil offers a premium line of motor oils, greases, fuel treatments, industrial lubricants, and problem-solving additives to help firmly establish Lucas Oil as a prominent figure in the marketplace. It has provided title sponsorship of the world’s prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series since the 2009 season.

For more information, visit
www.LucasOil.com.
MAVTV Motorsports Network 
MAVTV Motorsports Network is the only television network in the U.S. dedicated exclusively to motorsports. MAVTV offers an unparalleled line-up of exclusive and unique events, including unprecedented live coverage of the 50th Anniversary of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. MAVTV goes beyond the national mainstream motorsports events to include grassroots racing from across the globe: drag racing, sprint boats, rally cars, short course off-road truck racing, sprint cars, pro pulling, drifting, ice racing, cross-country motorcycle and ATV racing, ATV motocross, and everything in between. MAVTV knows you don’t have to be a race fan to be an automotive enthusiast, which is why we have developed a package of automotive reality and custom build shows that are truly second-to-none. MAVTV Motorsports Network is available on most cable, satellite, and digital television providers. 

If it has a motor, it’s probably on
MAVTV – The Motorsports Network!
 
Instagram
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Website
Email
 
Copyright © 2022 MX Sports Pro Racing. All rights reserved. /em>

For additional information, please contact us at media@mxsports.com
Our mailing address is:
MX Sports Pro Racing, Inc. · 122 Vista del Rio Dr · Morgantown, WV 26508-8832 · USA
 

Home