American Sprint Car Series
Tulsa, Okla. - Est. 1992
Lakeside Speedway Set For Tuesday’s Road To Knoxville Showdown
Bryan Hulbert – KANSAS CITY, Kan. (August 1, 2022) A nice tune-up for teams headed to Knoxville Raceway, the Marmon/Keystone Road to Knoxville featuring the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network and ASCS Warrior Region presented by Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps takes place Tuesday, August 2 at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.
A $3,000 to win, $400 to start mid-week showdown, last year’s event saw Sam Hafertepe, Jr. roll into Victory Lane for the first time at the four-tenths-mile oval to become the sixth different winner in just as many visits by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series. Previous winners include Gary Wright (2007), Wayne Johnson (2008), Brian Brown (2016), Aaron Reutzel (2017), and Seth Bergman (2018).
Just off the 2022 Sizzlin’ Summer Speedweek, the points have changed substantially going into the Tuesday night affair, with Wayne Johnson reclaiming the top spot from Blake Hahn, who trails by 19.
Claiming the Speedweek title, Tim Crawley has positioned himself only 27 points behind Johnson in third. Winning at 81 Speedway on Thursday, Matt Covington moved to fourth over Jason Martin, who sits fifth. The top five are only separated by 122 markers.
Tuesday, August 2, the Pits open at 4:00 P.M. with Grandstands opening at 6:00 P.M. Teams will check in between 5:45 P.M. and 6:15 P.M. with Hot Laps at 7:00 P.M. and Racing at 8:00 P.M. (CDT). Tickets are $25 for Adults, $20 for Senior and Military, $10 for Youth (13-15), and free for Kids 12 and under. Additional classes include USRA Stock Cars and B-Mods.
Lakeside Speedway is located at 5615 Wolcott Dr. in Kansas City, Kan. For more information on the track, call (913) 299-9206 or log onto
The 2022 season will mark the 31st year of competition for the American Sprint Car Series. Spearheaded by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, the ASCS Nation includes Regional Tours that encompass both wing and non-wing competition.
For fans not able to attend, the series can be seen live on two platforms, with on featuring National Tour events in tandem. Both are subscription-based sites. is $20 per month, billed annually at $150 per year. All Access is $39.99 per month.
For other news, notes, and information on any of the tours under the ASCS banner, log onto, follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).
Quick Notes:
Who: Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series and ASCS Warrior Region
Where: Lakeside Speedway (Kansas City, Kan.)
When: Tuesday, August 2, 2022
Times and Other Info:
Pits Gate: 4:00 P.M.
Grandstands: 6:00 P.M.
Draw: 5:45 P.M. – 6:15 P.M.
Driver’s Meeting: 6:30 P.M.
Hot Laps: 7:00 P.M.
Racing: 8:00 P.M.
Muffler Rule: Open
RACEceiver: 454.000
Pit Pass: $40
Admission: $25
Kids 12 and under: Free
Contact Info:
Address: 5615 Wolcott Dr. Kansas City, KS 66109
Phone: (913) 299-9206
ASCS Online:
American Sprint Car Series:
Twitter: [@lucasoilascs]
Instagram: LucasOilASCS
Broadcast: on
Live-Scoring [Where Applicable]: MRP Live
2022 Race Winners: Wayne Johnson – 4 (3/18 – Devil's Bowl Speedway; 6/18 – Boothill Speedway, 6/25 - I-70 Motorsports Park; 7/23 – I-30 Speedway); Tim Crawley – 2 (7/22 – Batesville Motor Speedway; 7/26 – Tulsa Speedway); Derek Hagar – 2 (3/25 – I-30 Speedway; 6/17 – Texarkana 67 Speedway); Dylan Westbrook – 2 (5/28 – Lake Ozark Speedway; 7/27 – Caney Valley Speedway); Matt Covington – 2 (7/1 – Boone County Raceway; 7/28 – 81-Speedway); Seth Bergman – 1 (3/19 – Devil's Bowl Speedway); Aaron Reutzel – 1 (3/26 – I-30 Speedway); Sam Hafertepe, Jr. – 1 (5/29 – Thunderbird Speedway); Jake Bubak – 1 (7/2 – WaKeeney Speedway); Zach Blurton – 1 (7/3 – WaKeeney Speedway); Gunner Ramey - 1 (7/15 – U.S. 36 Raceway);
2022 Driver Points (Top 15): 1. Wayne Johnson 2,180 2. Blake Hahn 2,161; 3. Tim Crawley 2,153; 4. Matt Covington 2,063; 5. Jason Martin 2,058; 6. Brandon Anderson 1,982; 7. Landon Britt 1,793; 8. Landon Crawley 1,786; 9. Kyler Johnson 1,780; 10. Garet Williamson 1,751; 11. Ryan Bickett 1,707; 12. Dylan Postier 1,597; 13. Dylan Opdahl 1,495; 14. Dylan Westbrook 1,164; 15. Dale Howard 890;
ASCS National Tour Drivers:
1x - Tim Crawley (Benton, AR)**
2c - Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK)**
2d-Dylan Opdahl (Madison, SD) (R)
10 - Landon Britt (Atoka, TN) (R)
10p - Dylan Postier (Stillwater, OK) (R)
17b - Ryan Bickett (Romona, SD)
24 - Garet Williamson (Columbia, MO)
36 - Jason Martin (Liberal, KS) (R)
45x - Kyler Johnson (Quinter, KS) (R)
52 - Blake Hahn (Sapulpa, OK)**
55b - Brandon Anderson (Glenpool, OK) (R)
95 - Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK)
187 - Landon Crawley (Benton, AR) (R)
(R) Signifies Brodix National Rookie
** Signifies past ASCS National Champion.
The American Sprint Car Series is brought to you by Lucas Oil Products ( and presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network ( Heat Races are presented by SCE Gaskets (, B-Features are sponsored by BMRS (
All Champions of the American Sprint Car Series, from National to Regional Tours, will receive a new Superior Steering Wheel ( Hard Luck Award provided by Vahlco Wheels.

Click the logos below to watch National Tour event live (Excludes Knoxville)
American Sprint Car Series | O: (918) 417-0624 | F: (918) 836-5517 |
Media Contact: Bryan Hulbert | | @bryanhulbert