American Sprint Car Series
Tulsa, Okla. - Est. 1992
(Image Credit: Photos by Red)

Jason Martin Returns To Lucas Oil ASCS Victory Lane At WaKeeney Speedway
Bryan Hulbert – WAKEENEY, Kan. (August 27, 2021) Leading start to finish at WaKeeney Speedway, Jason Martin made his return to Victory Lane with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.

The third time that Martin has topped a A-Feature, his last visit was just down the road at the former Great American Dirt Track in his hometown of Liberal, Kan. on May 26, 2012.

Getting the lead over Dylan Westbrook at the start, the pair found traffic working Lap 8 as the caution lights came on. Putting the field back to Lap 7, Martin again took the same amount of time to find the back of the field, but this time the red lights would come on as a parts failure in the steering system of Scott Cochran’s car sent him sailing violently into the wall off the top of the fourth turn. Thankfully, the driver was ok.

Back to green with nine laps to go, Westbrook again trailed.

Finding something in the closing laps, the No. 47x cut substantial time off the advantage held by Martin, but it would not be enough as the No. 36 found the checkered flag with 0.778-seconds to spare. Westbrook in second was joined by Matt Covington on the podium, who ended up losing nearly all his brakes in the closing laps. Ryan Bickett held off the charge of J.J. Hickel for fourth, with the No. 63 driver setting for fifth.

Blake Hahn crossed sixth with Zach Blurton seventh. Jeremy Campbell, J.D. Johnson, and Travis Reber completed the top ten.

The next event on the 2021 lineup is the Lake Ozark 360 Nationals at Lake Ozark Speedway on Saturday, September 4 and Sunday, September 5, with Sunday’s showing paying $5,000 to the winner. More information on the track is online at

The 2021 season is the 30th year of competition for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.

For the first time, the series can be seen live on two platforms, with and featuring National Tour events in tandem. Both are subscription-based sites. is $20 per month, billed annually at $150 per year. is $29.99 per month.

For other news, notes, and information on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the Regional Tours that make up ASCS Nation in 2021, log onto, follow on Facebook, on Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).
Race Results:

Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour
WaKeeney Speedway (WaKeeney, Kan.)
Friday, August 27, 2021

Car Count: 15
SCE Gaskets Heat Races (All drivers advance to the A-Feature)

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 2J-Zach Blurton[1]; 2. 36-Jason Martin[3]; 3. 88-Travis Reber[2]; 4. 52-Blake Hahn[5]; 5. 95-Matt Covington[7]; 6. 10-Jordan Knight[4]; 7. 16-Scott Cochran[6]; 8. 88T-Terry Easum[8]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 47X-Dylan Westbrook[1]; 2. 98-JD Johnson[2]; 3. 17B-Ryan Bickett[6]; 4. 88X-Jeremy Campbell[3]; 5. 63-JJ Hickle[5]; 6. 6-Kaden Taylor[7]; 7. 1X-Jake Bubak[4] A-Feature

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 36-Jason Martin[1]; 2. 47X-Dylan Westbrook[2]; 3. 95-Matt Covington[6]; 4. 17B-Ryan Bickett[4]; 5. 63-JJ Hickle[10]; 6. 52-Blake Hahn[5]; 7. 2J-Zach Blurton[3]; 8. 88X-Jeremy Campbell[9]; 9. 98-JD Johnson[7]; 10. 88-Travis Reber[8]; 11. 6-Kaden Taylor[11]; 12. 88T-Terry Easum[15]; 13. 16-Scott Cochran[13]; 14. 1X-Jake Bubak[14]; 15. 10-Jordan Knight[12]

Lap Leader(s): Jason Martin 1-25
Hard Charger: J.J. Hickle +5
High Point Driver: Ryan Bickett
Provisional(s): N/A
ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series:
Twitter: [@lucasoilascs]
Instagram: LucasOilASCS
Broadcast: and
Live-Scoring [Where Applicable]: MRP Live
2021 Driver Standings [Top 10]: 1. Blake Hahn 3,796; 2. Matt Covington 3,762; 3. JJ Hickle 3,744; 4. Dylan Westbrook 3,602; 5. Ryan Bickett 3,026; 6. Colby Thornhill 2,954; 7. Scott Bogucki 2,536; 8. Travis Reber 2,530; 9. Alex Hill 2,321; 10. Ryan Timms 2,036;
2021 A-Feature Winners: Blake Hahn – 5 [4/17 – Park Jefferson Speedway]; 5/15 – Volunteer Speedway; 6/24 – Skagit Speedway; 7/9 – Gallatin Speedway; 7/30 – Tulsa Speedway]; Ryan Timms – 5 [5/30 – Lake Ozark Speedway; 7/25 – Riverside Int. Speedway; 7/27 – Creek County Speedway; 7/29 – 81-Speedway; 7/31 – Outlaw Motor Speedway]; JJ Hickle – 3 [3/19 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway; 3/20 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway; 6/20 – Grays Harbor Raceway]; Matt Covington – 3 [5/8 – I-96 Speedway; 7/16 – U.S. 36 Raceway; 7/25 – I-30 Speedway]; Scott Bogucki – 3 [5/21 – Tri-City Speedway; 5-29 – Lake Ozark Speedway; 7/10 – Gallatin Speedway]; Giovanni Scelzi – 2 [August 6 – Knoxville Raceway; August 7 – Knoxville Raceway]; Dominic Scelzi – 2 [June 25 – Skagit Speedway; June 26 – Skagit Speedway]; Sam Hafertepe, Jr. – 2 [8/3 – Lakeside Speedway; 8/5 – Knoxville Raceway]; Blane Heimbach – 1 [5/1 – Selinsgrove Speedway]; Cam Smith – 1 [6/19 – Grays Harbor Raceway]; Dale Howard – 1 [7/23 – Batesville Motor Speedway]; Dylan Westbrook – 1 [July 28 – Caney Valley Speedway]; Jason Martin – 1 [August 27 – WaKeeney Speedway];
ASCS National Tour Drivers Online:

Seth Bergman [Snohomish, WA.]:
Ryan Bickett [Ramona, SD]:
Scott Bogucki [McLaren Vale, S. Aust.]:
Devon Borden [Raymond, WA]:
Matt Covington [Glenpool, OK]:
Roger Crockett [Broken Arrow, OK]:
Blake Hahn [Sapulpa, OK]:
JJ Hickle [Quilcene, WA]:
Alex Hill [Six Nations, Ontario, Can.]:
Travis Reber [Rapid City, SD]:
Colby Thornhill [Enumclaw, WA]:
Dylan Westbrook [Scotland, Ont. Can.]:
Garet Williamson [Columbia, MO.]:
ASCS Sponsors:

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV Motorsports Network is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for more information. is the official SawBlade of the American Sprint Car Series and title sponsor of every National Tour A-Feature and Victory Lane. For more information, log onto and follow Social Media at @SawBladecom on Twitter, on Instagram at Sawblade.com_, and Facebook.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented the MAVTV Motorsports Network include Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix. All Heat Races are brought to you by SCE Gaskets. All B-Features are presented by BMRS.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Geico, SRI, General Tire, MAVTV Motorsports Network, MAVTV Plus, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by SCE Gaskets, K&N Filters, BMRS, SpeedMart, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley's Racing Products, and Triple X Race, Co.

American Sprint Car Series | O: (918) 838-3777 | F: (918) 836-5517 |
Media Contact: Bryan Hulbert | | @bryanhulbert