Sproul & Lunow New Leaders Going into Saturday’s DCRP Action


Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 7, 2020) – Going into Saturday night’s fifth round of championship chase action at Dodge City Raceway Park, there are a pair of new points leaders at the 3/8-mile clay oval in southwest Kansas.


Following the most recent event on Friday, July 24, Dakota Sproul has taken over the IMCA Modified points lead and Mike Lunow has climbed to the top of the IMCA Sport Modified point charts.


Those retaining leads include Luke Cranston in the Hambelton Racing DCRP Sprint Cars, Troy Burkhart in IMCA Stock Cars and Tathan Burkhart in IMCA Hobby Stocks.


After an idle weekend, Saturday’s card marks the first of three consecutive weekends of racing action at DCRP that includes the Prelude to Mayhem next Saturday, August 15, and then the Lubbock Wrecker Service DCRP Sprint Car Nationals along with Sport Modified Mayhem on August 20-22.


Saturday’s racing action gets under way at 7:30 p.m.


A look at the current title chases…


Hambelton Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:


Luke Cranston picked up his first win last time out on July 24 to make it four different winners in as many races and pushing his advantage in the championship chase to 21 points over Taylor Velasquez, who used a runner-up finish to overtake Ray Seemann in the points tally. 


After Saturday night’s action, the Sprint Cars get next Saturday (August 15) off before embarking upon the Lubbock Wrecker Service DCRP Sprint Car Nationals on August 20-22.


Feature Winners: Brett Becker 1, Luke Cranston 1, Taylor Velasquez 1, Koby Walters 1.


Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Luke Cranston 565, 2. Taylor Velasquez 544, 3. Ray Seemann 534, 4. Jordan Knight 506, 5. Koby Walters 499, 6. Brian Herbert 491, 7. Tyler Knight 463, 8. Kris Moore 460, 9. Ross Essenburg 431, 10. Kohl Ricke 411.



IMCA Modifieds:


After an opening night win, Dakota Sproul shook off a pair of consecutive DNF’s with a dominant drive to victory lane on July 24 to become the first repeat winner of the year at DCRP and vault back to the top of the point charts from fourth.


Sproul’s advantage is at 19 points going into Saturday night with just five points separating the trio of Kale Beavers, Trent Gray and David Solberg in the tussle for second.  Beavers led the way previously before an early exit in the July 24 feature cost hm the points lead.


Feature Winners: Dakota Sproul 2, Kale Beavers 1, Clay Sellard 1.


Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Dakota Sproul 541 2. Kale Beavers 522, 3. Trent Gray 521, 4. David Solberg 516, 5. Danny Keller 493, 6. (tie) William Nusser and Nick Link 403, 8. Joel Lane 384, 9. Jack Kirchoff 358, 10. Derek Dechant 296.



IMCA Sport Modifieds:


The closest battle currently has Mike Lunow just three points ahead of Kamren Gruber in the Sport Modified title chase after previous leader Luke Stallbaumer fell to third following a rough-driving incident last time out with reigning champ Jeff Kaup in fourth after mechanical issues on the same night.


It's a critical stretch in the Sport Mod rank with this Saturday’s card followed by the Prelude to Mayhem next Saturday and then the Seventh Annual Sport Modified Mayhem North vs. South Duel on August 21-22.


Feature Winners:  Brett Berry 1, Brandon Kenny 1, Matt Rucker 1, Luke Stallbaumer 1.


Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Mike Lunow 547, 2. Kamren Gruber 544, 3. Luke Stallbaumer 513, 4. Jeff Kaup 507, 5. Brian May 498, 6. Mike Appel 480, 7. Ryan Kirchoff 478, 8. Monte Nordyke 477, 9. Kyle Wiens 471, 10. Brendyn Nordyke 464.



IMCA Stock Cars:


Troy Burkhart became the first repeat winner in the Stock Car ranks on July 24 and is trying to make a breakaway with a 23-point lead, but Chris Oliver and Jeff Kaup are well positioned to pounce on any miscues to eat into that slight advantage.


Feature Winners: Troy Burkhart 2, Jeff Kaup 1, Gregg Schell 1.


Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Troy Burkhart 577, 2. Chris Oliver 554, 3. Jeff Kaup 547, 4. Ondre Rexford 525, 5. Marlin Hogie 524, 6. Jesse Smith 477, 7. Gregg Schell 409, 8. Anthony Finch 384, 9. Paul Zimmerman 354, 10 Michael Pepper 273.



IMCA Hobby Stocks:


Racking up four podium finishes in as many starts, Tathan Burkhart is setting a pace difficult to match.  But Duane Wahrman is giving it a go, winning last time out to cut the lead to just 13 points with Skeets Salazar jumping from fifth to third in points with a third-place showing last time out.


Feature Winners: Brady Bencken 1, Tathan Burkhart 1, Trevor Schmidt 1, Duane Wahrman 1.


Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Tathan Burkhart 581, 2. Duane Wahrman 568, 3. Skeets Salazar 528, 4.  Dion Priddy 520, 5. Brett Copeland 516, 6. Keith Carr 486, 7. Chad Kelley 388, 8. Garrett Hager 274, 9. Cole Pfeifer 261, 10. Brooke Russell 255.


Tickets for Saturday’s action are just $12 for adults with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.


In total, the 2020 season atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval is slated for a dozen nights of action along with another six Sunday cards atop the 1/7-mile Little DCRP clay oval.


Detailed schedule information is available at https://www.dodgecityraceway.com/schedule/.


The Comfort Suites located conveniently at 2700 West Wyatt Earp Boulevard in Dodge City is the official lodging partner of Dodge City Raceway Park.  With an extensive list of classic amenities, Comfort Suites will help you feel right at home when traveling.  Be sure to ask for the Dodge City Raceway Park rate when booking.  For more information, check online at https://www.choicehotels.com/kansas/dodge-city/comfort-suites-hotels/ks193?brand=CI or call 620-801-4545.


Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.